January 19, 2009

The beginning of a new semester

Posted in All things crafty and scholarly at 2:22 am by charsfabrications

The semester has started and I already have fascinating work to do! As a fashion design major, I get a lot of hands on work in my classes. For Wearable Art, we have started shaped weaving. The first piece will be a wall hanging, next will be a half of a bodice front, but half scale. I have a feeling the class will be one of my favorites so far. Art to put on the body!

pict1301

Here is the makeshift loom made with cardboard and 3/4″ 18 gauge nails. The warp is black Lambs Pride Bulky. My nails, on the left and right of the cardboard in the photo, are not quite even. I’m not sure how much this will affect the final product, but I will ask my professor before we begin weaving next class.

1 Comment »

  1. christine haag said,

    Hi, Char….. good to see what you are working on… Kyle is a great model! can’t wait to see what you came up with for the first design for the fashion show. One of your fabric fans……


Leave a Reply

