January 29, 2009

Class Update

Posted in All things crafty and scholarly at 1:06 am by charsfabrications

My woven outfit for a half scale dressform is done, but I’m waiting for good daylight sun to take photos. The next project is an avant garde piece. We have to use at least 10 yards of fabric. Ten yards. The fabric has to be used. As in from used clothing, but all the seams and closures have to be dismantled. I have no idea what I’m going to do but I have to have sketches ready for next class.

Fashion Illustration has been boring so far. We just copy the drawings the professor draws on the chalkboard. I have to say though, my drawings have been getting better. After next week, we start doing things on our own. Some of the supplies we had to buy include watercolors, watercolor pencils, and soft pastels. I haven’t used any of these to a great extent so I hope to learn a lot. : ) 

Textile Science is really cool. We each got a yard and a half of a mystery fabric and over the course of the semester we have to determine what it is made out of! This definitely floats my boat as a fiber fiend. Last class we learned about cellulose fibers and their characteristics. Next class we will conduct burn tests on out mystery fabric and other known fabrics. The labs get more precise as we go along. I’m pretty sure my fabric is synthetic because the selvage edges are slightly melted together. I’m not positive though.

That’s all for now! : )

1 Comment »

  1. AnninRushford said,

    Miss Charlene,

    It’s so much fun to read your blog and see what you are up to. The 10 yard project sounds demanding, but I know you’re up to it. I love the hat and your weaving looks terrific. Keep up the good work and thanks for the updates on your life as a designer!


Leave a Reply

