January 29, 2009

The Boy’s Christmas Present

Posted in All things crafty and scholarly at 12:17 am by charsfabrications

dsc004193Here’s the hat I knitted for my boyfriend for Christmas. It’s handspun wool, though I’m not sure where the pretty grey wool came from.

dsc004251

dsc004241

The pattern is here: http://typyp.ajatukseni.net/2008/11/12/jacques-cousteau-hat/

I made a few changes to the pattern so the top wouldn’t be so pointy. When I got to the last 30 stitches or so, I decreased on every row instead of adding plain ribbing rows. It turned out better this way, but it was still too long. I ended up slightly felting the hat. He says it’s now warmer, which is a definite plus. Overall I was very happy with how it came out and he even wears it, so it’s definite success.

Leave a Reply

